Questionable Baking

A law school student who has fun in the kitchen!

Easter Dessert!!! April 9, 2012

Filed under: Delicious Baked Goods — Elise @ 2:56 am

So I know everyone is super curious to find out what crazy experiment I made for Easter! I made PINK LEMONADE CAKE!!!!! I have been wanting to make this for about a year now. I had seen Paula make it with a box mix and it looked spectacular. I love lemonade. Last summer my sister was pregnant and she craved lemonade so I thought it would be perfect, but I never got around to making it. So I asked her earlier this week what I should make, and she said lemonade cake. So I finally made it!!!

I did not use Paula’s recipe however because I like to make things hard. lol. So I found a cooking light recipe (actually my sister gave it to me) and I decided to use it. I read the reviews however and the major complaint with the cake was that it was too dense. This sounded weird to me because the recipe had 2 egg whites in it and usually egg whites can be used to make the batter light and fluffy. Well I decided I would tweak the recipe to try to make it lighter. I added an egg white and I beat the egg whites until they were stiff and folded them into the batter.  It did not work. :( The cake was extremely dense and I think it is because it contains buttermilk. (I thought about this when I originally made the recipe but beating the egg whites seemed like an easier solution.) The cake however is delicious and I expected it to be kind of dense so I was not disappointed by the consistency. Everyone loved it and it is a great summer cake!

The frosting was also a fun mess up. I had not decided which type of frosting I was going to make when I was at the store. I bought the ingredients for both butter cream and cream cheese. However, I bought fat free cream cheese. I do not know why in the world they make fat free cream cheese. Maybe so suckers like me can buy it and realize it doesn’t work with cooking and have to buy a second package. So double the money? Really fat free cream cheese has such a weird constancy that it can not be used for baking or cooking. Don’t do it. Don’t buy it. Just enjoy the fat!

So back t the frosting story. I originally made butter cream, but I found it to be too sweet and so I added just a little of my fat free cream cheese. It ruined the whole batch of frosting because it kind of curdled and balled up. It just looked super weird! So I went back to the store for another lemon and more cream cheese. The second time I made just a regular cream cheese frosting that was freaking delicious!!! So the cake was sweet but not that sweet! Completely recommend the cream cheese frosting with this cake.

I was a little bored that night and went ahead and decorated the cake with an Easter theme. I hope you make this cake! It is really good and I wish I would have made it sooner.

Pink Lemonade Cake

image

  • Cake:
  • 1 1/3 cups granulated sugar
  • 6 tablespoons butter, softened
  • Lemon zest (I used close to a whole lemon)
  • 3 tablespoons thawed pink lemonade concentrate
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3 large egg whites
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/4 cups fat-free buttermilk
  • Red food coloring

Frosting:

  • 2 tablespoons butter, softened
  • Lemon zest (I used a whole lemon)
  • Fresh lemon juice (from the lemon I zested)
  • 2 teaspoons thawed pink lemonade concentrate
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 8 ounces cream cheese
  • Around 3 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  1. Preheat oven to 350°. Grease and flour cake pans. (I used 8×8 square pans because that is all I had and they worked great because the cake does not rise that much.)
  2. Measure out and combine the dry ingredients.
  3. Place first 5 ingredients in a large bowl; beat with a mixer at medium speed until well blended (about 5 minutes). Add eggs (not the egg whites) 1 at a time, beating well after each addition.
  4. Add flour mixture and buttermilk alternately to sugar mixture. Beat well after each addition. Add the food coloring as desired and mix.
  5. In a separate bowl (metal bowl works best), beat the egg whites until stiff and they form peaks. (Make sure your beaters are clean and dry for this step.) Put about 1/3 of the egg whites in the batter and mix in to lighten it up. Then gently fold in the rest of the egg whites. (I really don’t know what the difference is with the step or if just adding the egg whites with the egg is fine, but this is what I did.)
  6. Pour batter into 2 pans; sharply tap pans once on counter to remove air bubbles. Bake at 350° for 20 minutes or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. (Really 20 minutes too! I thought it would be a little longer and it was not.) Cool in pans 10 minutes on a wire rack; remove from pans. Cool completely on wire rack. (The cake is slightly sticky so make sure it is a wire rack and not a plate.)
  7. To prepare frosting, add all the ingredients except the powdered sugar (2 tablespoons butter through cream cheese) in a large bowl; beat with a mixer at high speed until fluffy. Add powdered sugar, and beat at low speed just until blended (do not overbeat). I do not add all the sugar at one time. Instead I pour a good amount and then taste it. If I think it needs more I add and mix and taste again. This is how you can make it as sweet as you like it! (Chilling the frosting will make it easier to frost and decorate, but if you don’t have time it is okay.)
  8. Frost cake.
  9. Devour!
 

One Response to “Easter Dessert!!!”

  1. Sarah Sherman Says:

    Pretty Cake!!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.