Questionable Baking

A law school student who has fun in the kitchen!

Pumpkin Poppers!!! September 20, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Elise @ 6:54 pm

So September 1st has passed which according to all restaurants means I can start cooking PUMPKIN!!!! If coffee places can start serving pumpkin well I will start cooking with pumpkin! :) If you can’t tell, I am a pumpkin fan and love using it in baked goods. So when I saw on pinterest these pumpkin poppers, my sister and I couldn’t help but make them right away. So what are they like you ask…… Oh they are little balls of heaven. The first night we made them was for a group of guys who were participating in a fantasy football draft. Each guy looked at the poppers and questionably took a bite. Then each person made a very funny noise that let us know that they found these poppers delicious. I say each person, and I really mean each person. It was funny to watch. So I will be making these a lot. (I will be making them for the third time since I have tried this recipe this weekend!!!)

I will warn you that these are better the first day because they are not as messy. They are still very very good the next day but they become a little more wet and messy. It is because of the butter and sugar becoming a paste. You could probably make these and just wait to coat them until the day of. I do not have pictures yet, but I will try to remember to take them this weekend.

 

Pumpkin Poppers

  • 1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 can pumpkin
  • 1/2 cup milk

For Coating

  • 1 stick unsalted butter, melted (start with this you may need more )
  •  Sugar
  •  Cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 F and spray mini muffin tins with non-stick cooking spray.

Combine flour, baking soda,salt, and spices in a bowl and whisk until combine.

In another bowl, mix oil, brown sugar, egg, vanilla, pumpkin, and milk.  Pour in flour mixture and mix until just combined.  Fill mini muffin tins until almost full and bake 10-12 minutes.

Melt butter in small bowl.  No measurements are given for the cinnamon and sugar because this various by taste. I like a ton of cinnamon on mine so I probably use 1/8 cup of cinnamon and 2/3 cup sugar. I say mix it up and taste because this gives you a great excuse to try one right away. Mix sugar and cinnamon in a separate small bowl.  After popper cool for a few minutes, roll them in the butter and roll them in the sugar mixture.

Eat them right away or let them sit out for a bit, either way they are great!

 

One Response to “Pumpkin Poppers!!!”

  1. Sarah Sherman Says:

    I can’t wait to try these!! I love me some pumpkin!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.